Wednesday Picks for Your Wee-Ones and Not So Wee-Ones

This week’s (or month’s since that is really how often I actually do one of these) selection is short: only one. I’ve take a break from my children’s writing and have started an adult novel project, so I’m not swimming in children’s fiction like I normally am. Here’s the only but the goody.

Drum roll, please.

Picture Book

Picture Book

Author: April Pulley Sayre  Illustrator: Jackie Urbanovic

Ages: 4-8

Formats: Hardcover       

Published:  Greenwillow Books; Scholastic Edition edition

 Amazon  Barnes & Nobel

If You’re Hoppy is a play on the childhood favorite song If You’re Happy and You Know It.  The book spins the song by replacing the “happy” with different animal attributes and then follows with what kind of animal it could be.

If you’re hoppy and you know it, you’re…a frog.

If you’re hoppy and you know it, you’re a frog.

Or a bunny.

If you’re hoppy and you know it, stretch your toes to really show it.

This book is a great combination of a playful song and fun illustrations. A great potty training choice. My daughter loves it when I sing the words of the book and she points to the different animals. Her favorite part is the “growling” section, and we always spend a few extra minutes growling at the bear and dog. I love the illustrations in this book. I particular liked seeing the cute little frog throughout the different sections. The ending felt a little abrupt, but it was sweet. The publisher has the reading ages at four to eight, but my daughter is eighteen months and she loved it. It’s a fun, simplistic read. 

4 thoughts on “Wednesday Picks for Your Wee-Ones and Not So Wee-Ones

Leave a comment